Finally, WhatsApp much-awaited feature to delete messages “sent by mistake” is out.
As social and official activities on smartphones and computers have increased with passing times, we often mistakenly send wrong messages to wrong people. And the wrong messages usually end up with several question marks by the receiver and utter embarrassment for the sender. But not anymore!
WhatsApp to the rescue
The Facebook-owned app finally decided to launch a new feature that would allow its 1 billion plus users to delete a ‘sent message’ for all people in a conversation. The company had been working on this feature for months. The feature is called ‘Delete For Everyone.’
The company announced it on their FAQ page with some brief details.
“This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake,” wrote WhatsApp.
The app already has a delete option, but that is only for the person who sent it. However, the person receiving the message can still see it anytime. Pretty useless right?
The latest feature enables you to delete messages ‘for everyone’. This means that after you’ve deleted a message, neither you nor anyone else would be able to see it again. But to avail this opportunity, you have to be quick as the time duration for this feature is only seven minutes after sending the message. If you’re pretty quick and delete it before seven minutes, you’re saved. However, once the seven minutes have passed, you can’t do anything about it.
How to get it working?
- If you have to delete a message, go to the chat containing it.
- Tap and hold the message, until it’s selected. Choose the Delete option from the menu.
- After choosing the delete option you’ll see a new option “Delete For Everyone”. Click on that, and you’re done.
The ‘Delete For Everyone’ feature works for all types of messages, including texts, pictures, videos, GIFs, documents and voice notes.
After you successfully delete a message, your recipient will see a “This message was deleted” alert instead. Similarly, if you witness such alert on your screen, it means the sender has deleted their message for everyone.
The receiver may see your message before you delete it or if the deleting action fails. WhatsApp says that you will be notified if the ‘Delete for everyone’ fails.
This feature is only available for latest WhatsApp version for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone. Both the sender and the recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp to acquire this feature.
This feature is already rolling in many other chat apps like Instagram, Skype, Viber, Telegram.
The feature is still rolling out and not everyone has succeeded acquiring it. The update is long overdue.